Gain recognition with your fellow authors and within the textbook publishing industry by nominating your textbook for a 2024 TAA Textbook Award.

For more than 20 years, TAA has supported emerging and veteran textbook and academic authors through its annual Textbook Awards Program. 

Nominated works are judged for their merits in four areas:

  • Pedagogy
  • Content/Scholarship
  • Writing
  • Appearance & Design

Each entry is judged on its own merit in these four areas regardless of other nominations in the same field or category. Self-published books and e-books are welcome.

Forty-five textbooks were awarded 2022 Textbook Awards by the Textbook & Academic Authors Association (TAA).  View the 2022 Textbook Award Winners Media Kit

The 2024 Textbook Award Winners will be announced in March. 

For more information about these awards, including how to nominate your works, click on the specific awards below.

McGuffey Award logo
McGuffey Longevity Award "McGuffey"

The William Holmes McGuffey Longevity Award ("McGuffey") recognizes textbooks and learning materials whose excellence has been demonstrated over time. Learn more

Textbook Excellence Award logo
Textbook Excellence Award "Texty"

TAA's Textbook Excellence Award ("Texty") recognizes excellence in current textbooks and learning materials. Learn more

Most Promising New Textbook Award Logo
Most Promising New Textbook Award

The Most Promising New Textbook Award recognizes excellence in 1st edition textbooks and learning materials. Learn more