Council of Fellows logo

The TAA Council of Fellows honors distinguished authors who have a long record of successful publishing.
Any author whose textbook or other instructional materials have established his/her presence in the market place over time, who has been innovative in the presentation of material, is qualified for nomination into the TAA Council of Fellows. Induction into the Council of Fellows is the premier honor bestowed by TAA.

TAA Council of Fellows logoCouncil of Fellows members are chosen by a TAA Selection Committee based on a set of criteria which includes their:

  • Level of participation in TAA activities
  • Teaching excellence
  • Quality and quantity of textbooks (if textbook authors)
  • Quality and quantity of professional journal articles, monographs and edited books (if academic authors)

How to Apply

The deadline for application to the TAA Council of Fellows is May 1, 2024.

Applications must include documentation in support of the Council of Fellows Criteria. Send your application and documentation to: [email protected].

If you have any questions, contact TAA Executive Director Kim Pawlak at [email protected] or (507) 459-1363.

Council of Fellows Inductees

1999: Michael Sullivan | Lee Mountain | Everette E. Dennis | Mike Keedy | Franklin H. Silverman | Karl J. Smith
Thomas L. Wheelen |  William R. Pasewark
2001: Karen Hess | D. Stanley Eitzen | J. David Hunger
2002: Charles D. Holland
2003: Patrick G. McKeown
2005: Karen C. Timberlake | Marilyn T. "Winkie" Fordney

2009: Robert Christopherson | Fred S. Kleiner

2010: Molefi Kete Asante

2012: Karen Morris
2013: Patrice Morin-Spatz | Belverd E. Needles, Jr. | June Jamrich Parsons | Michael Spiegler
2017: Kathleen King
2019: Kevin Patton | Janet Salmons

2020: Steven Barkan