Who We Are. The Textbook & Academic Authors Association (TAA) provides a wide range of professional development resources, events, and networking opportunities for textbook authors and authors of scholarly journal articles and books.

Writing and Developing Your College Textbook

 Guide to Textbook Publishing Contracts

Textbook Awards | Most Promising New Textbook Award

The Most Promising New Textbook Award recognizes excellence in 1st edition textbooks and learning materials. Works are judged by textbook authors and subject matter experts for their merits in four areas:

  • Karen Hardy quotePedagogy
  • Content/Scholarship
  • Writing
  • Appearance & Design

View the 2017 Textbook Award Winners

Program Rules

  • Textbooks and learning materials can be nominated by authors or publishers.
  • The awards are open to members and non-members.
  • Nominated works must be 1st editions.
  • Nominated works must be assigned in courses for K-12 through college/university level classrooms.

Book Formats

Textbooks and learning materials eligible for entry include single works and series.

Entry Process

Nominations for 2018 Textbook Awards will be open September 1 to November 1, 2017. There is no limit to the number of entries from a single author or publisher. You must submit a separate nomination form for each nominated work.

Nomination fee: $350 (non-refundable) for single books. $700 for series.

Nominees must provide four copies of the print book. Three copies will be mailed to the judges during the nomination process and one copy of winning books will be mailed to TAA headquarters. Judges' addresses will be sent by November 15, 2017. Judges must receive books by December 1, 2017.

If nominating a series, the publisher or author submits a sample of the series. If the work spans two or more grade levels, the sample should include one at a lower level and one at a higher level. Nominations may include a promotional brochure or package for the entire series to help judges understand the scope of the program and components. Nominations are limited to ancillaries that coincide with the grade levels that are submitted. The award is for the entire series.

Submit Your 2016 TAA Textbook Awards Nomination

5 Reasons to Nominate Your Textbook for a 2017 TAA Textbook Award
Please have these items ready before completing the online nomination form:

  1. A high-resolution image of the book cover in JPEG, PNG or PDF format.

  2. The names, mailing addresses, phone numbers and email addresses of all of the book's authors.

  3. If the work has more than three authors, an Excel document containing the full names, mailing addresses, phone numbers and email addresses of all of the authors. Please name the file with the title of the nominated work and "Authors" (e.g. "Introduction to Human Anatomy - Authors").

  4. An Excel document listing the journals, publications, and/or media outlets to which you would like press releases sent if your work is selected for an award. This document should contain the full name of the journal and a contact person's name and email address. Please name the file with the title of the nominated work and "Press Releases" (e.g. "Introduction to Human Anatomy - Press Releases").

Evaluation Process

Nominated works are judged in eight discipline categories:

  • Accounting • Business • Economics
  • Communication • Performing Arts • Visual Arts
  • Computer Science • Engineering
  • Humanities • Education • Social Sciences
  • Languages • Literature
  • Life Sciences
  • Mathematics • Statistics
  • Physical Sciences

Judges are textbook authors and subject matter experts in appropriate disciplines. Judges who have directly competing works are asked to abstain from judging those works. College/university and K-12 books are judged separately. If there are college/university and K-12 entries in all eight categories, there is the potential for 16 Textys to be awarded each year, eight in the university/college division and eight in the K-12 division.

Works are judged for their merits in four areas:

  • Pedagogy
  • Content/Scholarship
  • Writing
  • Appearance & Design

Judges' comments are shared with nominating publishers and authors. Judges remain anonymous.

When Awards Are Presented

Awards are presented at an Awards Ceremony held at TAA's annual conference. For books with multiple contributors, the physical award is presented to the editor and/or primary author. Those not present are mailed their award after the conference. The 2017 TAA Conference will be held in Providence, RI, June 9-10. 

Spreading The Word About Your Award

TAA issues press releases on the awards to journals and publications and to other media outlets designated by each winner. An article about the awards is also published on TAA's blog, Abstract.

Publishers and authors may cite the Texty in promoting winning works. The Texty logo can be reproduced by the publisher for use in marketing materials.

View 2016 Textbook Award Recipients | View Past Recipients

powered by MemberClicks