• 2017 TAA Textbook Awards Announced

Who We Are. The Textbook & Academic Authors Association (TAA) provides a wide range of professional development resources, events, and networking opportunities for textbook authors and authors of scholarly journal articles and books.

Writing and Developing Your College Textbook

 Guide to Textbook Publishing Contracts

2018 Textbook Awards Nominations Open Sept. 1, 2017

2016 TAA Textbook Award WinnersNominations for the 2018 Textbook Excellence Award ("Texty"), McGuffey Longevity Award ("McGuffey") and Most Promising New Textbook Award will open September 1, 2017.

Click here to view the 2017 Textbook Award winners

Click here to view the Media Kit

For more than 20 years, TAA has supported textbook and academic authors through these highly-recognized awards, given annually to emerging and veteran published authors in eight subject categories.

Textbooks and learning materials can be nominated by authors or publishers. The awards are open to members and non-members. Works are judged by textbook authors and subject matter experts for their merits in four areas:

  • PServe as a judgeedagogy
  • Content/Scholarship
  • Writing
  • Appearance & Design

Here's what some of the 2017 Textbook Award winners had to say:

"After 24 years of textbook writing, it is deeply gratifying to receive this affirmation of the value of my work. I am very grateful to my team at McGraw-Hill Education, from editorial and design through marketing, whose commitment to quality has been vital to the success of my books." -- Kenneth Saladin, author of Anatomy & Physiology: The Unity of Form and Function, 2017 McGuffey Longevity Award Winner

"I'm thrilled to receive this honor along with my co-author Tracy Tuten and our publisher SAGE.  While we constantly focus on creating a valuable resource for our faculty adopters and student readers, validation by our peers is a rare opportunity and very gratifying."  -- Michael Solomon, co-author of Social Media Marketing, 2017 Textbook Excellence Award Winner

"I am honored to be a recipient of the 2017 Most Promising New Textbook from TAA. What a pleasant surprise!  To be recognized  by well respected peers in the  academic textbook community for the work I do in the risk management profession is a lasting achievement that I share with my team at John Wiley & Sons and everyone who has supported my work." -- Karen Hardy, author of Enterprise Risk Management: A Guide for Government Professionals
, 2017 Most Promising New Textbook Award Winner

Click here to view photos from the 2016 TAA Textbook Awards Ceremony

For more information about these awards, including how to nominate your works, click on the specific awards below.

2017 TAA Textbook Award McGuffey Logo
McGuffey Longevity Award "McGuffey"

The William Holmes McGuffey Longevity Award ("McGuffey") recognizes textbooks and learning materials whose excellence has been demonstrated over time.  Learn more


2017 Textbook Award Textbook Excellence
Textbook Excellence Award "Texty"

TAA's Textbook Excellence Award ("Texty") recognizes excellence in current textbooks and learning materials.  Learn more


2017 Textbook Award Most Promising New Textbook
Most Promising New Textbook Award

The Most Promising New Textbook Award recognizes excellence in 1st edition textbooks and learning materials Learn more

powered by MemberClicks